Apt. 216 – The Bedroom

August 25, 2010 at 9:00 am Leave a comment

Well its Day 3 of Extreme Home Makeover: Black Gardenia Edition!  So the bedroom… this room didn’t feel as near a big a challenge as the living/dining rooms did, but there definitely a few challenging moments!  In case you forgot, here are the before shots:


As I thought about the space and my mom’s personality, I knew the room needed to be in a darker tone, romantic yet sophisticated, and most of all, it needed to feel restful.  I flipped through some photos and found this beauty from Apartment Therapy:

I started out with a bed, and an antique writing desk.  Both functional, but those alone do not a bedroom make.  My first stop once again: Craigslist.  I can’t get enough of that site.  There I picked up this beauty for $40.00.

Okay, so not so awesome looking right now.  It had a slightly broken leg and was in dire need of some refinishing, but hey, it had potential.  I also was gifted this gorgeous wonder:

Gotta love that grandma print!  Now that guy was no easy task to re-upholster.  Especially when upholstery is NOT what you do for a living(curved arms are Evil).  I make hats, not settees.  However, it looked like perfect dog bed to me, so I was gonna make it work somehow!

After working more hours than I can count on the dresser and the settee, I still needed to make that headboard.  Thank God that project was pretty easy.  For more on that click here.

Last, all I had to do was paint the walls, find some much needed accessories, and oh yeah, put something on the bed. I hit up my favorite stores to find the accessories – Homegoods and Ikea.  I decided on this GORGEOUS lamp for the dresser.

A bit pricey at $90.00, but in the room it was totally worth it.   Ikea had some great finds- an elegant nightstand, fun oversized art, & this bed set.

It was super affordable for only $50.00, and it perfectly fit into my romantic, yet relaxing theme.   All in all, this is BY FAR my favorite room in the house.  It didn’t come out exactly like the super luxe inspiration photo, but I thought for my tiny budget, it came out damn good!  Here’s the reveal:

No, I did not buy the Fraggle… but she sure does look cute there!  I love the little turquoise accent pillow.  I sewed it up at the last minute to add some blue to that side of the room.

I love the oversized print.  Its size makes it modern but the image makes it so vintage chic!  Best of all, only $45.00 in the as-is section at Ikea!

There you have it!  I hope you guys love the room as much as I do… oh, and here’s how it hit the bank:

Bedroom: Cost: Notes:
Bed Frame $98.00 Mattress Firm
Headboard $65.00 Home Depot, High Fashion Fabrics, Sunny Road
Bedding $100.00 Ikea, Target
Settee $40.00 High Fashion Fabrics
Nightstand $21.00 Ikea
Lamps $95.00 Homegoods, Ikea
Dresser $70.00 Craigslist, Home Depot
Curtain & Rod $55.00 Lowes, Ikea
Paint $25.00 Home Depot
Décor $85.00 Homegoods, Target, Ikea
TOTAL $654.00

Live Creatively!

Entry filed under: Before & After, Project Mondays, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Check out Cafe Handmade… and vote! Apt. 216 – The Home Office

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

bloglovin




