Apt. 216 – The Living & Dining Room

August 24, 2010 at 9:00 am 2 comments

The living & dining areas of my mom’s place were really important to me.  I wanted to make sure it was a fun space, but also functional, and most of all, pretty!  With a tight budget 3 and no furniture, (except an antique sewing cabinet and a TV) I knew I had my work cut out for me.  I decided on a great color pallette based on the cover of one of my favorite magazines:

My next stop was Craigslist.  I was blessed to find a great deal right away… a couch and loveseat set for only $150.00.  I immediately sent an email and was lucky enough to be the first responder… little did I realize, the set was all the way in the Woodlands!  I was in the Galleria area (its about an hour trip) but hey, a deal’s a deal!  I loaded up my mom and the dog (because he goes everywhere), and we were off to couch shop!  It actually took us more like an hour and a half by the time we mazed through the suburb’s neighborhood but we finally made it, and the set was perfect.  It needed a litle work but they were sturdy and best of all, my mother thought they were comfy. Here’s a before pic:

Next, I needed to get rid of that God awful yellow on the walls.  It was everywhere!  I woke up early the next day and made may way to Home Depot.  I love Home Depot… I love it even more at 6am where the only people there are contractors and serious DIYers. Here’s what my cart looked like… I was only about half way through my shopping trip!

I chose a beautiful color palette of pale blue in the kitchen & dining room, & a super soft grey for the walls in the living room.

Next, I decided to hit up the Habitat for Humanity Re-Store.  I find FABULOUS stuff at our location here in Nashville, so thought I’d find some pretty good stuff at the Houston location.  Boy was I right!  I picked up lots of good finds including this TV stand for only $10.00!

It was in rough shape, but with a little love, I knew it could be a beauty!

Then I made another great find on Craigslist from an Antiques dealer who was trying to liquidate some of her inventory.  She sold me an amazing glass & brass coffee table for just $40.00.  I gave it a good spray of metallic silver spray paint and it fit perfectly into the room.

Then another lucky discovery…  The frame and shelves of an old bookcase just left on the side of the road – hey one man’s trash is TOTALLY my treasure.  I re-built the back, added some fabric, and voila… one perfect bookshelf!

Next, I hit up fabric stores for upholstery and accent fabric, as well as Homegoods and Ikea for some much needed accessories.  If your in the Houston area, you have to check out these 2 shops:


Interior Fabrics

High Fashion Home

Homegoods & Ikea had all the accessories a girl on a budget could ask for… and what I didn’t find there, I found at Target.  Bless that store, but damn my camera… my battery died while I was doing all the accessory shopping!  So, most of my living & dining room decorating was complete… one small problem, I had no dining room table or chairs.

My mother had requested a bar height set, but as I researched I found that those things are not cheap!  Randomly, I drove by a Hobby Lobby and decided to stop in just to take a look around their massive home dec section.  I walked in to find the perfect 5 piece set… and it was on sale for $140.00! In my excitement, I of course, forgot to take a picture!  Then when speaking with the manager, it turned out the floor sample was the only one left.  He gave me an extra $20.00 off and I loaded it up, very happy with my new purchase!

After a few late nights of painting, building, & re-uphostrying (is that a word), I am proud to present the mostly finished space (in case you missed them, click here for the before photos) :-).   There were a few things that I just couldn’t get to in my 10 day timeline but, rest assure when they do make it into the space, an update will be posted!   Here are the things I’d like to add: an art piece behind the couch, an accent chair & ottoman and a rug… anyone have any other suggestions?

Here’s the re-upholstered couch with accent pillows Target & long green curtains from Ikea!  My mom’s favorite piece: the pink lamp!

Remember that $10.00 TV cabinet?  Also, you have to check out the “art” behind the TV- they’re plastic room dividers from The Container Store for only  $10.00!

Every room needs a Buddha… especially if its Turquoise!

Did I mention I’m a sucker for obnoxious statues of animals?

My mom was really happy with the end result, and I came in under budget!  Here’s a look at where all the funds went:

Living Room: Cost: Notes:
Couch $135.00 Craigslist, Interior Fabrics
Pillows $60.00 Target, Jo-Anns
Coffee Table $45.00 Craigslist, Home Depot
TV Console $37.00 ReStore, Home Depot
Lamps $60.00 Ikea, Homegoods
Bookshelf $35.00 Free, High Fashion Fabrics
Curtains & Rod $70.00 Lowes, Ikea
Décor $177.00 Target, Homegoods, Ikea
Paint $60.00 Home Depot
Misc. $15.00 n/a
TOTAL $694.00
Dining & Kitchen: Cost: Notes:
Dining Set $140.00 Hobby Lobby
Paint $25.00 Home Depot
Microwave $39.00 Target
Coffee Pot $18.00 Target
Rug $19.00 Home Depot
Chandelier $60.00 Ikea
Accessories $90.00 Homegoods, Target
Décor $20.00 Target
TOTAL $411.00

Tomorrow I’ll feature more of the bedroom that you got the sneak peek at last week!

Live Creatively!

Entry filed under: Before & After, Project Mondays, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Project Monday: Apartment 216 – The LowDown Check out Cafe Handmade… and vote!

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

bloglovin




