Project Monday: Apartment 216 – The LowDown

August 23, 2010 at 9:00 am 7 comments

As I mentioned on Friday, I recently was in Houston, Texas decorating my mother’s new condo.  I sat down with my mom and said, okay, you’re moving- what do you envision for your new place?  Her response: “Something fresh, airy and feminine… I need a place to work (she works super long hours as a property tax agent), but I need a space to relax too.”

With all that in mind, I headed out on the search to decorate.   For this project, I needed to decorate 1 bedroom, 1 home office (2nd bedroom), the living room, and dining room.  Hopefully, I’d be able to add some accents in the bathroom and kitchen as well.  And here was the real challenge, I only had $2500.00 to do it.

Here are some shots of what we started out with:

Entry & Dining Room

Kitchen

Living Room

Home Office/Spare Bedroom

Master Bedroom

I started working on a budget and flipping through some magazines for inspiration.  When I closed my latest issue of Do It Yourself Magazine, I noticed the cover was perfect:

It was fresh, modern and definitely feminine.  I loved the color palette of Blue with Pink and Green accents.  I decided it was the perfect place to start as inspiration for the living & dining area.  The home office and bedroom were still on my list.  Because I am an internetholic, I love to read blogs, peruse photo galleries on Flickr and then save all my favorites for those rainy days when I have nothing to do but look at pictures of rooms I wish were in my house.  It was there where I found my next inspirational photo:

I found this beauty of a room on Apartment Therapy and was so glad I saved it!  It was perfect… feminine, romantic but still dark and luxurious feeling.  The home office however, was kicking my butt.  I couldn’t find anything that spoke to me as just right.  I decided to table it until I could hit up some fabric stores and look for inspiration there.

Last, I buckled down on my budget; as Mike Holmes would say (and who doesn’t listen to Mike Holmes): always keep 10% back for the unknown… I decided to keep back 12% just in case.  Here’s how I broke down the funds for this project:

Apt. 216 Budget
Kitchen & Dining Room: $500
Living Room: $800
Home Office: $400
Master Bedroom & Bath: $500
Miscellaneous: $300
TOTAL: $2500

It was a tight budget for sure, but I love a challenge and I knew that with a little creativity, hard work and a spot or two of Ikea, a beautiful new place awaited my mom.  Check in tomorrow for more on this amazing transformation!

Live Creatively!

Entry filed under: Project Mondays. Tags: , , , , , .

Weekend Craft Fix: Fabric Headboard Apt. 216 – The Living & Dining Room

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. terry joy nelson  |  August 23, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    keep me imform on what you are doing.

    Reply
  • 2. Vicki  |  August 23, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    So excited to see what you do! I love do it yourself transformations on a budget. That is what my business is ALL about! It can be done and I can’t wait to see what you do!

    Reply
    • 3. blackgardeniadesign  |  August 23, 2010 at 10:13 pm

      Thanks so much! This is the 1st time I’ve done interior design DIY on such a large scale. As an upcycle accessories designer I play with lots of little stuff, but this was way bigger (and in a lot of ways, a lot more fun!)… I hope you like the rest of this week’s posts!

      Reply
  • 4. Mary @ Room Polish  |  August 23, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    UMMM: SOOOO excited to see the reveal! So glad DIY Mag mentioned you on FB so I could find your lovely blog!!! Can’t wait to see what kinds of finds you’ve had : )

    Reply
    • 5. blackgardeniadesign  |  August 23, 2010 at 10:11 pm

      Thanks so much! This was a really fun project; I hope you like the rest of the week’s posts. The bedroom is my favorite!

      Reply
  • 6. Kim Hooker  |  August 24, 2010 at 1:23 am

    I can’t wait to see the final pics…..I love before and afters.

    Reply
  • 7. Constance  |  August 25, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Can’t wait to see the follow up pictures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

bloglovin




