Weekend Craft Fix: Fabric Headboard

August 20, 2010 at 9:00 am 2 comments

Recently, I went down to Houston to decorate my mother’s new condo. She basically wanted to downsize and start anew, so we started with nothing but a bed, a tv and an antique sewing box. I’ll share photos of the entire re-model next week, but I thought I would give a sneek peek with her new headboard.

I’m a huge supporter of the art of DIY and so I decided I wanted to make her a headboard rather than purchasing one.  First, I scoured the internet and local stores for some inspiration:

Photo Sources: Random Google Image Search

After checking out Google Images and some local furniture stores,  I was off to find the perfect fabric, upholstery tacks and eco-friendly backer board.  The process was relatively simple,  I cut down a piece of pine plywood to 48″ tall x 60″ wide.  Then, I covered the board with bamboo batting and soft pink velvet and stapled the two onto the backer board.  Next I measured out for the upholstry tacks and hammered them in.  Last I screwed in 2 pieces of 1″ x 2″ as support legs, cutting them down to the desired height for my headboard. Finally, my mom’s headboard ended up looking like this:

And best of all- it only cost about $80 to make, and took about 20 minutes to build!  Fore more information about building your own headboard, check out the Crafters File Box’s tutorial here… there are a couple that are really cute!

Live Creatively and have a Crafty Weekend!

Entry filed under: Weekend Craft Fix. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

New Items in the Shop! Project Monday: Apartment 216 – The LowDown

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  August 23, 2010 at 3:29 am

    I’m the lucky Mom that this beautiful head board was built for by my very smart and very creative daughter!! The picture doesn’t not do it justice. The pink fabric is a gorgous rich velvet that has the feel of suede. And the nickel color upholstry tacks are prefectly measured and placed. To say the least, it’s beautiful!!

    A very happy Mom! Love you and you are the best!

    Reply
  • […] After working more hours than I can count on the dresser and the settee, I still needed to make that headboard.  Thank God that project was pretty easy.  For more on that click here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

bloglovin




