Hat Class Recap & Quote of the Week

April 26, 2010 at 8:00 am Leave a comment

“…and all your future lies beneath your hat.”  -John Oldham

Last Friday I traveled to Cincinnati for a hat class at The Pattern Studio.  The trip there was pretty uneventful if you don’t count the 18-wheeler that I watched jacknife and roll over in my rear view mirror.  I did stop to call 911 and render aid, however, it made me about an hour late to class!  Luckily, the class was small and Connie, a costumer from Alabama and Dee, the instructor were kind enough to wait for me.

In the class we learned to cover a Buckram hat frame.  Buckram is a woven cotton cloth infused with glue to make it stiff.  Millinery Buckram impregnated with a starch, which allows it to be softened in water, pulled over a hat block, and left to dry into a shape.  It comes in three weights: baby buckram (often used for children’s and dolls’ hats), single-ply buckram, and double buckram (also known as “theatrical crown”).

We started class with this frame:

Our first step was to cover the frame with a soft, low-loft batting.  We worked through the hours, learning about pattern making for frames, hand sewing techniques and how glue should always be used sparingly (and with gloves on).  I opted to do a simple 2-fabric cover of the frame, using a quilting weight patterned cotton for the crown, and a mixed blend “linen look” fabric for the brim.  While I worked slowly on my simple hat design, my partner in class created a really cool layered look with her fabrics, see below!

Dee was super informative, and wonderful to work with.  The class included a tasty box lunch and lots of great conversation.

All in all, I had a blast.  I didn’t quite finish my hat in class, however it gave me a great project to work on through the rest of the very rainy weekend.   I’m not quite finished with my hat yet but when I do pics will be posted (promise!), and check out Dee’s website, www.patternstudio.com.

I’m off to go work on more hats and maybe a few hair accessories… before I go, here are a few of my favorite hats.  Enjoy!

Source Unknown

Source: Eugina Kim for Target

Source: Style Smith

Source: Topsy Turvy Design

Live Creatively!

Entry filed under: Quote of the Week, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Weekend Craft Fix: Hat Love & New Vintage in the Shop! Worldly Wednesdays: SocialVibe & Charity:Water

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

bloglovin




