Houston Goodies & Quote of the Week

April 13, 2010 at 8:02 pm Leave a comment

Sorry I missed posting on Monday… the trip back was crazy!  Here’s this week’s quote…

“Good clothes open all doors.”  – Thomas Fuller

So what do you do when spending a long weekend in Houston?  Shop. Shop. And shop some more… It’s a great city for unique boutiques, vintage steals, and of course, designer goodies.   I had the opportunity to hit up all 3… see below for all my finds!

Material Girls

2047 W.Gray St.

Houston, Tx 77019

This shop is located in the swanky River Oaks area of town and has some great finds.  I love the t-shirt and jean display!  Funny enough, the shop also happens to be owned by my best friend’s cousin… who knew!

Next, we headed for the Heights, one of Houston’s oldest neighborhoods… and where some of the best vintage can be found!

Retropolis

321 West 19th Street
Houston, TX 77008

Retropolis is deceiving from the street… with an unassuming entrance you would never know that the place is a huge 2 story Mecca of vintage clothing, shoes, & accessories.  There are even a few housewares tucked in there!  I picked up an amazing 1950s cocktail hat, 2 70s era ties and a little bead necklace.  All for less than $50.00!

Sew Crafty Houston

321-B West 19th Street
Houston, TX 77008

Sew Crafty is not your everyday craft store.   They have an amazing array of fabrics, patterns, notions and other fun stuff in addition to a full calendar of sewing & knitting classes.  If you live in the Houston area, go check them out.  I grabbed up some laminated cotton fat quarters, black felt, ring bases, and blank headbands.  My list of projects keeps growing…

Saks Fifth Avenue

5115 Westheimer Road

Houston, TX 77056

So I have a small addiction problem.   Okay, more like a large addiction problem: designer shoes (see my shoe collection below).  Its my one vice in life what can I say.

Living in Nashville has been hard on this addiction.  We don’t have very many designer shoe stores and what we do have offers a very small selection.  Needless to say, being in Houston, I had to get my fix in.  A friend told me that Saks had renovated their shoe department and WOW is all I can say.  I wasn’t really looking to buy but alas, a certain pair of summer Gucci jellies screamed out to me.

Fashion Recycler

1629 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77006

So on my last day of the trip, I hit up the Montrose area of town.  I used to live in this area, and would spend most Sundays having brunch at Empire Cafe and walking around the surrounding area filled with antique shops, indie boutiques and consignment retailers.  One of those retailers is Fashion Recycler.  My favorite part of this shop??  The $1.00 bins.  I grabbed up these beauties while I was there… I now have new projects to put on my upcycle list.

Last, I stopped by the Catbirds Handmade  Market at Catbirds Lounge on Sunday night.   The market was full of local artisans, music and great food and drink.  Unfortunately, my camera died and so I didn’t get any shots.

Needless to say Houston was great and I came home with a super full suitcase and lots of project ideas!

Live Creatively!

Entry filed under: Quote of the Week, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Style File… Off to Texas! Worldly Wednesdays: Spring

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

bloglovin




